menu
Francesco Fontebasso
Francesco Fontebasso (1707 — 1769, Venice) was an apprentice of Sebastiano Ricci and Giovanni Batista Tiepolo. He was the most famous and sought-after artist after Tiepolo, thanks to his murals of churches, palaces and villas in Italy and Europe.
In full maturity he was sent by Empress Catherine II to St. Petersburg (1761-1762). He worked in the Tsar's Palace (the works were destroyed in 1783) and in the Winter Palace, drawing among others the coronation of Catherine II.
Francesco Fontebasso was a member of the Venice Academy of Arts in 1755, and then he became its President in 1768.
Being a significant artist, Fontebasseau had a clear position "with an individual taste of composition, crystal style, and his inherent porcelain corpulence" (Precerutti Galberi), so that helped Pietro Zampetti to characterize him as "almost an intermediary between Sebastiano Ricci and Giambatista Tiepolo."
As Giambattista Tiepolo, Fontebasso was also an artist of antique scenes: his famous works are "The Renaissance of Scipio", "Zenobia and Aurelian", "Antonio and Cleopatra", "Alessandro and Rossana".
Fontebasso often depicted themes of secular banquets and religious dinners, maintaining the same motive as Tiepolo, emphasizing the theatrical perspective in classical architectural backgrounds. The figures are defined and characterized by a stillness of look and poses, as if they were portrayed at the time of the lifting the curtains.
 
 
other artists

меню
Франческо Фонтебассо
Франческо Фонтебассо - ученик Себастьяно Риччи и Джованни Баттисты Тьеполо. Был самым известным и востребованным художником после Тьеполо, достиг этого благодаря росписям церквей, дворцов и вилл в Италии и Европе. В 1755 году являлся членом Венецианской Академии Искусств, а в 1768 году он становится ее президентом.
В полной зрелости был позван императрицей Екатериной II в Санкт Петербург (1761-1762). Работал в Царском дворце (картины уничтожены в 1783г.) и в Зимнем дворце, среди его множества работ есть картина, посвященная коронации Екатерины II.
Будучи весомым художником, Фонтебассо имел чёткую позицию «с индивидуальным вкусом компоновки, с кристальным стилем, с присущей только ему фарфоровой корпулентностью» (М. Precerutti-Galberi), за это был определён Пьетро Дзампетти «почти посредником между Себастьяно Риччи и Джамбатистом Тьеполо».
Как и Джамбаттиста Тьеполо, он был художником античных сюжетов. Среди его известных работ - «Возрождение Сципионе», «Зенобия и Аврелиан», «Антонио и Клеопатра», «Алессандро и Россана».
Фонтебассо часто изображал светские банкеты и религиозные ужины, сохраняя ту же систему, что у Тьеполо, подчёркивающую театральную перспективу в классических архитектурных фонах. Фигуры в его работах определяются и характеризуются неподвижностью взгляда и поз, как будто они изображены в момент поднятия занавеса.
 
все художники